St Mary's C.E School Nursery

Home Page

Nursery Curriculum

The Curriculum at St Mary's Nursery, Finchley

We offer broad, balanced and exciting learning opportunities based upon the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. We run whole class and small group teaching sessions each day and offer a wide range of activities based upon the 7 areas of learning, which are three Prime areas; Communication and Language, Personal, Social and Emotional development, Physical development and four specific areas; Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Art and Design. We have a spacious learning environment both indoors and outdoors and the nursery day is structured so that children are also offered times for quiet and relaxing activities. 


Children's progress is monitored using the EYFS Development matters document and intervention work is put into place in cases where children's learning needs to be accelerated. We meet regularly with parents to give feedback on learning and progress and design future provision based upon the outcomes of learning activities and observation. We use Tapestry, an online journal, to record and share each child's learning and participation. We regularly monitor our provision as a team, in order to continuously provide exciting, age-appropriate and stimulating learning opportunities based upon the children's interests. 


Our staff are committed to ensuring that all children feel safe, secure and comfortable within our nursery setting. Relationships between children and between adults and children are strong and children feel confident and happy. We have a well-established settling-in process when a child starts with us and, at the end of their time at nursery there is a clear transition process into Reception.


Useful documents:


Statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage, updated 2021


Development Matters, updated 2021


What to Expect in the EYFS, a helpful guide for parents of children from birth to Five years, updated 2021